Parent or Work – Do you really have to choose?

I was one of the lucky ones – when my kids were young, my husband was a full-time parent. But now that I am working on a start-up, he is working full-time and I am the one juggling work and the kids’ schedules. The good news is that there are starting to be more options for working parents. But I want to be on the forefront of that movement.

I have this dream, as LiveBinders grows, of harnessing that workforce that is in need of a more flexible schedule. I know these parents from school – they are accomplished and well educated and I know they would be great contributors.

But I struggle with the reality of how to put such a structure into place. For example, how do you keep someone motivated who must work from home with kids screaming in the background? I search blogs and forums looking for the answers. I would love some insights. Who has had experience with this who would be willing to share?

As I struggle with how to build a business this way, I have found some really interesting sites for parents looking for ways to balance their work and home life:

Working Parent

One Response to Parent or Work – Do you really have to choose?

  1. Cali Ressler says:

    Hi Ladies!

    What you desire CAN happen. We’re happy to say that we were two working mothers in the bowels of the work world of Corporate America when we noticed nothing was working. People were unhappy and struggling to balance work and life. In response to this, we created ROWE (Results-Only Work Environment) and it is THE answer to the work/life conundrum.

    To learn more about it, check out our blog at http://www.caliandjody.com/blog. And good luck to you as you continue to build LiveBinder!

    Cali Ressler and Jody Thompson
    Creators of the Results-Only Work Environment (ROWE)
    Authors of the forthcoming book “Why Work Sucks and How to Fix It”

Leave a Reply

